Our Ingredients

Here at the Happy Tart we understand how difficult it can be to navigate the world when the food you eat may make you sick. We are dedicated to a 100% gluten free kitchen, and a 100% gluten free environment in our shop. We search out the finest certified gluten free ingredients to use in our products. We custom blend a mix of seven gluten free flours and starches to achieve the most delicious tastes and textures. This blend may include: brown rice flour, sweet rice flour, millet, sorghum, teff, potato starch and tapioca starch.

We do our best to accommodate other food allergies as well. Here is some information on how we use the top eight food allergens in our products:

  • Wheat and other grains: We are 100% free of wheat, barley, rye and oats.
  • Soy: Our chocolate and chocolate products contain soy lecithin.  We do not use soy flour or other soy ingredients in our products.
  • Fish and shellfish: We do not use any fish or shellfish in our kitchen.
  • Peanuts: We do not use any peanuts or peanut butter in our kitchen. We do use other nuts however, and therefore cannot guarantee that there has not been cross-contamination.
  • Tree nuts: We  use a variety of nuts in our kitchen including, but not limited to: walnuts, pecans, pistachios, almonds and almond flour, and hazelnuts.  We make a large variety of nut free products. While we do our best to segregate our nut containing products, we cannot guarantee that there has not been cross-contamination.
  • Milk:  We use cow's milk in all of our dairy containing products. We have a variety of dairy free products available including cookies, cupcakes, breads, and custom cakes. While we do our best to segregate our dairy containing products, we cannot guarantee that there has not been cross-contamination.
  • Eggs: We use eggs in all of our pastries, cookies, cakes, cupcakes and other sweet treats. Our baguettes, pizza crusts, English muffins, and plain sandwich bread are egg free. We are not able to make egg free cakes or sweets.
  • A note about sugar: While our breads are low sugar (enough sugar to activate the yeast) we are unable to offer sugar free pastries, cakes, or other treats at this time. We do not use any artificial sweeteners in our products.
  • A note about decorations: We limit the use of food color to cakes and other requested decorations, and we use standard food coloring products. We are not able to print on cakes, and we do not use plastic or other non-edible objects on our cakes.
  • A note about Kosher: We do not offer kosher products.
  • A note about nutritional information: It is currently cost prohibitive for us to have our products analyzed for their nutritional information. The nutritional profile of individual items is similar to their gluten containing counterparts.

This information is subject to change at any time. Please confirm the ingredients in the products you have ordered or chosen at the time of purchase. Please call for more information or if you have other questions. We will do our best to help!